Skip to the content

Indigenous Protected Area Program

What is an Indigenous Protected Area?

An Indigenous Protected Area is an area of Indigenous-owned land or sea where traditional owners have entered into an agreement with the Australian Government to promote biodiversity and cultural resource conservation. 

Indigenous Protected Areas make up part of Australia’s  National Reserve System,  a nation-wide network of reserves especially set up to protect examples of Australia’s  unique landscapes, flora and fauna for current and future generations.

Indigenous Protected Areas in the Torres Strait

Within the Torres Strait Area, there are currently three Indigenous Protected Areas that are managed by Traditional Owners with support by the Indigenous land and sea Rangers employed by Torres Strait Regional Authority. These IPA are:

  • Pulu Islet (on the western side of Mabuyag)
  • Warul Kawa
  • Warraberalgal/Porumalgal